Got more questions? Find advice on: SQL | XML | Regular Expressions | Windows
in Search
Welcome to AspAdvice Sign in | Join | Help


Press Releases submitted from various .NET companies.

Author of the Year Award-Packt Publishing


Birmingham, September 10, 2009 - Packt Publishing today announced that Jeff Potts is winner of the Packt Author of the Year Award for his acclaimed book, Alfresco Developer Guide .

Alfresco Developer Guide is Potts’ first book, published in October last year. His book was judged best written out of a set of 6 nominated titles, including books about Drupal, Ext JS, JavaScript, and SOA.

“I am excited and honored to win the award,” said Potts, “especially because I know there were several popular and well-written books among the finalists.”

Judges praised the book for “providing a strong balance of background, actionable items, and wisdom” and bringing a complex, challenging topic “down to earth”.

The winner receives a $1000 cash prize and an engraved Packt Author of the Year 2009 trophy.

Any Packt author who published a book in 2008 was eligible for the 2009 award. Six finalists were selected on the basis of an open vote, where readers could nominate their favorite eligible book. Packt then sent copies of these books to expert judges, who gave their opinions and evaluation of each title. The judges’ verdict put the Alfresco Developer Guide on top.
Packt strives to be a rewarding publisher to work with, and a first choice for first time and veteran technical book authors.

“We’re pleased that this award gives us another chance to reward and thank our authors for their hard work,” said David Barnes, Packt Acquisition Editor and organizer of the award. “We give our authors excellent royalty terms and all the assistance we can to help them with writing and then to market their work, so that the whole process is as rewarding as possible. Most of our authors write in their limited free time alongside demanding full time jobs and this award gives us another, more fun way to reward and thank our authors.”

The Packt Author of the Year Award aims to acknowledge and reward authors whose books are written to an exceptional standard, provide the most practical and useful assistance to readers, and that enrich the tech community as a whole.

The other finalists for the award were:

Packt is always keen to attract new authors to write new tech books. Anybody interested in becoming a Packt author, and perhaps winning the award in a future year,should visit and give Packt their details.

Published Friday, September 25, 2009 10:42 AM by ssmith

Comment Notification

If you would like to receive an email when updates are made to this post, please register here

Subscribe to this post's comments using RSS

Leave a Comment

Enter the code you see below